Notices

I'v been sober for almost 96 hours now!

Old 08-02-2011, 10:09 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

I'v been sober for almost 96 hours now!

I found this site a few days ago and found it to be very helpful. I've been drinking 8 to 12 beers for the past 5 years and 3 to 6 beers for the previous 5years. I used beer to help with my anxiety. Over the past 2 months I've been cutting down on my drinking. During the past month I drank 1 to 2 beers a night except for 4 nights where I drank 4, 5, or 6. Last week I was sober for 96 hours but drank 6 beers when I got alot of anxiety. It is now almost 96 hours sober again and I am feeling very anxious. I don't want to drink and I am doing my best not to. I am worried about withdrawal symptoms and I fear the dt's. Other than anxiety I have had some nausea and insomnia. No trembling or sweating. Just need some support this time. Any comments are greatly appreciated.

Thanks!
Old 08-02-2011, 10:15 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
On my way....

I don't have any experience with DT's....I'm sure there will be others who will be along to help you with that. I want to welcome you to SR, you're in the right place for help.
Old 08-02-2011, 10:24 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Crazy Cat Lady

Welcome back. Not sure if it's DTs but if you're concerned, you should get checked out by a doc. Congrats on your 96 hours! Now is the time to start extending that time without any breaks. If you did 96 then 12 more is not bad, then 12 more, then 24 more...you have it in you so believe and do not be swayed from sobriety.
Old 08-02-2011, 10:26 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  

Good time to see a doctor about your anxiety. You maybe suffering with depression and medication would be something that the doctor by give you to help with it. If you have help insurance then go see your family doctor.
Old 08-02-2011, 10:45 PM
  # 5 (permalink)  
Your attitude, not your aptitude, will determine your altitude

Welcome to SR SteveyD