Notices

new to SR

Old 07-27-2011, 12:05 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

new to SR

Hi everyone,

I've been reading posts on here for a while and finally decided to join. I'm struggling with my drinking. I'm still young, just a year out of college, but I've been drinking about 6-12 drinks a day for the past 6 years. I'm getting to the point where something needs to change for many reasons (worried about my health, sick of extra weight, sick of living a double life, no self esteem, etc.).

I'm just having a really hard time getting there. I've suffered from major depression since I was a kid and I cannot seem to get the courage to quit drinking when I'm at a low point. I'm also in a 4-year, VERY rocky relationship that I think contributes to my need to drink. My bf can be very unstable at times (other times he's terrific). Today was going to be my Day 1, but after a major fight with the bf at work (we work together), I can't wait to get home and drink until I don't care anymore. I'm still torn on whether I can quit today or not. But I decided that since I'm not comfortable going to AA yet, SR might provide an outlet and some support.

Sorry if this seems scattered, but I just wanted to introduce myself since I'm going to try to make SR an important part of my recovery.
Old 07-27-2011, 12:10 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Welcome to Sober Recovery, I'm glad you found us. Will drinking after work do anything to help resolve your fight?
Old 07-27-2011, 12:18 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

No, not at all. Alcohol has been my default way of dealing with my emotions since I was a teenager - it's hard for me to know what to do with my emotions without just using drinking to cover everything up. I'm sitting at my desk and all I can do is think "drink... no, don't drink..." I'm hoping that I will have the strength to leave work and go straight home without stopping. This is all so new for me.
Old 07-27-2011, 12:20 PM
  # 4 (permalink)