Notices

Need an opinion

Old 07-25-2011, 11:06 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Need an opinion

So I am a 24 year old student who has been unable to get a job, had my girlfriend leave me in the middle of a Mexican vacation and then had a depression episode. I drank previously but never so much that it was a problem. Once these things happened my drinking became a huge problem to the point I was drinking five times a week and usually blacking out. I have recently decided to try to quit drinking, but by this time I am addicted and unsure of where to go to get help. Any ideas on the first step besides rehab?
Old 07-25-2011, 11:17 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
I'm here to learn!

Welcome to SR!

Well the good news is you've made the first step: deciding you want to quit. The second thing I'll say is take a cue from Yoda: there is no "try". Quit drinking, don't try to.

Anyways, there are a lot of ways you can go. I did do rehab myself, but if you're vehemently opposed to it I would recommend getting involved in a recovery program. You'll need to do it eventually if you are serious about quitting. Edit: Most people need to, I should say Many people check out AA, and that can be a nice option because there are so many AA meetings around.

Check out this website:
AA Northern Colorado Intergroup

They have meetings listed in your area, as well as a 24 hour staffed phone line you can call for help, advice or suggestions on where to find a meeting. Just go and listen. Going there will be the hardest thing to do, but most people really like it once they get in the door.

I would seriously recommend checking out several meetings before making a decision. AA meetings really vary in the type of people that attend, the number, the group dynamics, etc. I hated the first several meetings I went to until I discovered a group that is comprised of mostly college students.