Notices

Day 13

Old 07-21-2011, 08:53 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  
Holding Strong...

Day 13

Hi all...I'm Jen and new to SR. I've been on and off of this site for the past 13 days and finally got up the nerve to register and post something. Sorry in advance that it is so long!!!

I'm kind of superstitious so I dreaded today, thinking maybe I would give into my cravings - I didn't!!! I'm also new to sobriety in general - only 13 days in and it actually took me until day 3 to admit out loud, to someone else, that I'm an alcoholic (I've learned to hide it from people close to me really, really well and not one person that I talk to regularly knew that I had a problem. My mom mentioned it to me in the past but I think she figured it was a phase and hasn't said anything about it since). I've known it myself for years, though...every time I'd sit at home and drink alone, every time I walked into a store to buy beer, every time I've sat at my desk at work and thought about drinking when I got home or hoping a friend was free so we could 'go out for a few', being hungover more days than not, sitting with my head on the toilet (which sober, is one of the grossest things I could ever think of to do, wondering why I drank so much and trying not to throw up or pass out), every time I'd hide the beer bottles beneath the ads and boxes in my recycling bin so people wouldn't see them and they wouldn't make as much noise when the guy poured them into the truck, every time I'd stumble or fall or walk into something because my balance was off and I couldn't walk or talk straight, forgetting parts of (or entire) important conversations, feeling like I've missed out on huge chunks of time over the past decade +, etc etc. All of those times and every single day, I knew.