Notices

What to expect going cold turkey

Old 07-18-2011, 03:38 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

What to expect going cold turkey

Today is the lowest day of my life that I can remember. I need desperately to stop drinking. I tried to go one night last week without anything and all night long I had twitching and convulsing (shocks I think you call them) which just sent me right back to drinking because of how scared I was.

I have been drinking probably 2 bottles of wine a night for several years now. I am a completely functioning alcoholic, but it is time to take my life back. I have everything to live for (2 beautiful young children) a wonderful husband. However, life has just been very stressful lately. Had to sell our home, husband lost his job, etc.

My question is how long does it take to get over the shaking/sweats, shocks or twitching. I need to get through that step. How do I do it? Does anyone have suggestions on holistic things I can take to help me get through the night when it is so bad I can't sleep?

Thank you for listening. I am so scared.
Old 07-18-2011, 03:46 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
bona fido dog-lover

We can't give medical advice here but usually detox lasts a few days to a week and then the worst is over. If you have ANY concerns or fears or abnormal/severe reactions, PLEASE go to the ER. Alcohol withdrawal can be very dangerous so please seek help immediately if needed.

Welcome to our recovery family.
Old 07-18-2011, 03:52 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Administrator

Although I'd done it many times before, my last detox was bad.

Not everyone gets into trouble, but it's just impossible to forecast beforehand.
I always recommend people get professional medical advice before detoxing - it's simply the best option to see your Dr.

As least said we cannot give you medical info, but we have this thread that may help you on some of the more general questions

http://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/...at-we-did.html

Welcome to SR - you're among friends here

D