Letter to Prosecutor asking not to press charges

Old 07-17-2011, 06:24 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Letter to Prosecutor asking not to press charges

My name is Sarah. I am writing this letter in support of my husband, Cody, in his personal quest to stop commiting crimes and abusing drugs.

I have a Bachelors of the Arts degree in English with honors from the State University of New York at Buffalo. In 2007, I completed my Masters Degree in Philosophy from the NYU in New York, NY. Growing up, I spent my time buried in books and making projects, whatever it took to avoid the reality of my home life. I had to fight to get to where I am now, living across from the ocean in Virginia Beach. I had to fight to get out of NY but mostly I had to fight myself, my self-doubt, my lack of confidence, my behavior that kept me stuck. Currently I support myself working at a national mortgage servicing company but I am preparing my graduate thesis for publication. I have a friend in NYC who just started a small publishing company. That’s what I try to share with Cody. No matter how hard the struggle is, that feeling of small personal success is worth it.

Ever since I decided to be Cody’s friend in Seattle, I saw he went through the same personal hardships but just far more extreme and out of control. Two weeks after I moved to Seattle from NY in 2007, Cody moved in across the hall. I avoided him for several months as I had a sense he had some troubles but one day he insisted we go for a walk in the park a block away from where we lived. He lit up a joint and then the police showed up on bikes and they took him away. My father is a very religious person and thought I should go with an acquaintance to visit Cody in jail, maybe I could help him. That began a several year sojourn that culminated in my marrying Cody.