Notices

Just don't understand the point on some of the steps of AA?

Old 07-09-2011, 11:49 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Just don't understand the point on some of the steps of AA?

Was reading an other topic on the SR forum and they were talking about celebrity rehab and Dr Drew just don't get the 12 step program. I've been to AA for a few months because of my arrest for a DUI. That was in 2010 and I have some experience with it. Could never get myself to do anything in the program because I was really depress at that time and drank every week even though I was court order not to drink. Weird that I never got caught for consuming alcohol but they don't test for alcohol but hard drugs which I don't lucky me. Got out of probation and 5 months later got arrested for my 2nd DUI. A month before I got arrest I decided I needed to cut back which I did but after my 2nd one I only drank 3 times this year which is pretty good. Last year I would be drunk 3 to 4 times a week more or less on the weekend. Now I'm taking my recovery head on and serious. I can't live my life drunk. I'm never happy when I get drunk and plus my binge drinking too.

I red about 30 percent of the Big Book. That was last year when I was in AA. Could not understand a lot of it to do with alcohol and recover plus the anti evolution/science just could not get pass but that's for an other day. To the 12 steps. I can understand some of the steps but the steps that are in bold below I could never understand the point of it and what it has to do with alcohol and recovery.

Please just talk about 12 steps that are bold and nothing else because I just don't want a flame over about if AA works or not. Thanks.

1. We admitted we were powerless over alcohol—that our lives had become unmanageable.
2. Came to believe that a Power greater than ourselves could restore us to sanity.
3. Made a decision to turn our will and our lives over to the care of God as we understood Him.