Notices

I'm a newbie and hate mornings anyone else feel this way?

Old 07-09-2011, 01:01 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Cool I'm a newbie and hate mornings anyone else feel this way?

I am 8 days sober today and have felt like crap every single morning so far! I feel worse in the mornings than I did when drinking? Anyone else feel bad in the morning?

I have insomnia, but that appears to be something all experience to some degree. But I always feel tired, worn out and irratable in the mornings.

Other than diarrhea and sweats, I felt fine in the mornings when drinking (not tired, foggy and irratable like I do now). My normal patterns were 4-6 six beers at lunchtime and then at least that much after work.

So far, after work is my worst craving time. I guess boredome was a big part of my drinking because I find myself trying to occupy myself. I have started back working out, but that is usually at lunch time or afterwork. So around 8pm or so is when I am most bored.

I seem to feel hungry all the time now, but have been watching my caloric intake. However, I have gained 5 pounds in the last 8 days. Is this normal?

Sorry to be so "windy" on here but have a lot going on in my head
Old 07-09-2011, 01:19 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Administrator

I wonder if you have talked to your dr? Your fatigue could be caused by many things and the only way to know for sure is to check with your dr.

I think it's typical to be hungrier in early recovery.
Old 07-09-2011, 02:50 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

It got better for me, those first 3 weeks for me my body was all over the place. I was tired, hungry, couldn't sleep and just an all around mess. Have patience with it and give yourself time to heal and recover.
Old 07-09-2011, 03:09 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  
Administrator

Hi Scrappy
Welcome to SR

It took a while for my body and mind to recover for sure - I'd drunk for 20 years...it takes time to return to balance....