Notices

Just found out my new boyfriend is an alcoholic...

Old 06-23-2011, 07:51 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Just found out my new boyfriend is an alcoholic...

Hello, I'm new to this sight, so please point me in the right direction!

I just found out that my new boyfriend of 3 months has a drinking problem. I found out by coming home and finding him passed out on the stairs. He'd actually gotten up and dressed to go to work. I found out he'd actually called in sick to work, changed, went fishing and drinking, then came back to my house, changed back into his work cloths to go home, so that everyone would think he had worked all day. He was so drunk he never made it out of my house.

At this point I've discovered he has a drinking problem, he attends AA daily and obiously has no problem lying about his "embarrassing" situation - embarrassing being his reason for not telling me sooner and lying about his meetings.

He really is a great guy and I know he loves me so much - he also treats me like a queen. However, I'm a smart girl and realize he hasn't even come to terms and accepted that he has a real problem. He just thinks he let it "get out of control" this time. He's also supplied the "it will never happen again" routine.

Knowing the reality is that this relationship is not likely to last in the long run, my quesiton is - how do I break up with him? He is not a bad, violent or abusive person, he really is a great guy, but this is not a good situation for me to be in. Is it possible to help him at all? Is it better to have a clean break or can we stay friends???

Any advice would be very much appreciated. Thank you!!!
Old 06-23-2011, 07:55 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Owner of a strange glitch.

Welcome.

I have no idea how to break up with him or help him, or whether y'all should be friends. I wouldn't presume.

There is a room more specifically for friends/family, if you like: