Notices

I'm new here.

Old 06-09-2011, 10:25 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

I'm new here.

Hello. I am new here and just wanted to introduce myself. I have been following this forum for about a week now and am truly impressed with the maturity and thoughtful nature of the posts I have read. I recently registered and now want to participate.

I am a retired scientist and live in the rural Sonoran desert. I am in my mid-70's and until about 1 1/2 years ago, had been sober for over 30 years. I quit drinking the first time because I felt that my drinking was getting out of control and because my brother, mother, father, and 2 out of 4 grandparents were alcoholics. Family gatherings were just occasions to drink so I opted out of them; much to to my benefit but also much to the disapproval of the family.

I started drinking again about year and a half ago: a few days ago, I decided to quit again. I started again after my wife was diagnosed with a progressive and ultimately fatal lung disease. She had never smoked in her life. Drinking gave us some quiet time together and something to share. We started out by sharing, equally, a bottle of wine per day. However, before I quit a few days back, I had increased to drinking the better part of a bottle by myself and found myself wishing for more. I seldom had hangovers and only drank in the late afternoon. But, I drank every afternoon regardless of what other plans were brewing.

Since I started again, I have tried to persuade myself that I am just a social drinker and I know that my family sees me that way. But, when I am honest with myself, I know that I am not "just a social drinker" and that I could easily start down the slippery slope of alcoholism. It is just too easy for me to have that "one more drink" and still want another. I have decided that it is easier and simpler to abstain than it is to try to manage a compulsion.