Notices

Relapse and shame

Old 06-04-2011, 10:06 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Relapse and shame

I drank last night. I get a week or two of sobriety under my belt and then I drink. I feel so much shame about this and letting down people in AA who want the best for me. There was an old timer at a meeting that said he wanted to give me a good kick, after I admitted to drinking one night. Now he's really going give it to me.

My sober days are not consecutive, but for me they are huge since I have been drinking for almost 30 years and half of those pretty heavily.

As a person new to AA and recovery I feel like a hypocrite because I share clarity and wisdom when I'm doing well...and then slip.

I DO have the desire to stop drinking. And I feel like I am making progress, but to go to meetings and take a white chip makes me feel like it focuses on my slip and not the days that I have NOT taken a drink and keep going to meetings. I was at a meeting and a woman was told by another...I hope you make it your last white chip, with a stern voice. That seems counter to what AA is truly about.

I have a sponsor who appears too busy to be a sponsor...I have names of other women sponsors who come highly recommended that I plan to call. Anyway, don't know what else to say. I want to continue to go to meetings, work the BB, get a new sponsor, work the Steps....but I don't want to take the white chip and feel any more crappy than I already do...does this make sense? And I know most in AA are compassionate but others DO judge. We are human after all.
Old 06-04-2011, 10:10 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

No one said you had to be sober to be in AA -just the desire to quit drinking. It does seem like an oxymoron but that's what AA is there for.
Keep going and keep trying. After 30 years of drinking I finally did.
Old 06-04-2011, 10:12 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Irish,