Notices

help,..9 days sober and craving a drink!

Old 05-06-2011, 11:39 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

help,..9 days sober and craving a drink!

Hello everyone, I am new to SR and have made it 9 days without alcohol. I feel wonderful when I wake up each morning but I can't seem to shake my craving today. I stay at home 99 percent of the time caring for my chronically Ill child, and the feelings of being trapped at home and bored and lonely come on very strong at times. I am unable to attend the meetings I want to attend, because my son, who is 16, cannot be left home alone due to his medical condition. The depression that accompanies dealing with watching him struggle with his health on a daily basis and the loneliness that accompanies this can be extremely overwhelming emotionally.His diagnosis is ultimately terminal and that in itself can grip me with fear at times. I began to drink wine every night to escape the realities of the day, and no longer wanted to run away from the reality,...thus my new sobriety.Any advice and support would be greatly appreciated...need to stay out of self pity and depression...those two are certain triggers for me. Thank you,..and love and light to all
Old 05-06-2011, 11:45 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

congrats on 9 days sober!
hang in there. you are going to end up feeling worse than you do now if you drink. call someone to chat, watch tv, read, do anything to distract yourself. for me, when i want a drink, if i focus on something else, the want for the drink usually goes away for a while. do something that makes you feel good, and something that requires you to focus alot on it.
Old 05-06-2011, 11:58 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Lots of love and support to you. Congratulations on the 9 days of sobriety! It is hard just to see how GOOD those days really are if you are craving a drink.

Have you read: "The Easy Way to Stop Drinking" by Allen Carr?