New to site - new to all this

Old 05-06-2011, 08:02 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

New to site - new to all this

Hi, I'm new to this site and looking for support. My husband's daughter starting using again recently after being clean for a year. My husband is devastated and finds it hard to talk to me about everything. He wants to believe her when she says she's getting clean, he is trying to stay positive about the situation. I am getting a bad feeling about the things she tells him. I don't feel it is the truth. The latest is that her belongings were "stolen" from her car, including a brand new playpen we had purchased. I want to be supportive of my husband. We have agreed to not give her any more money, but I don't agree with buying cigarettes, sleep aid and Benedryl to "help" her get clean. He says they told him in rehab support group it was ok to buy these types of things to help them. I am totally new to all this. Any advice would be appreciated.
Old 05-06-2011, 08:40 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

april,

Welcome to SR.

I am the mother of a 30 yr old recovering, addict son. A sure sign of relapse would be "stories" of things lost or stolen, unbelieveable mishaps that my son could make sound convincing, and need for sodas, immodium, gatorade, etc.

If the daughter has been clean for a year, she knows how to go about getting back there. I assume during that year she was taking care of herself? Why does Dad need to step in now and help out?

Have you or he ever tried NarAnon or AlAnon? Sounds like Dad has been to some sort of support group. I know sharing in my groups can really open my own eyes to how crazy the stuff coming out of the addicts mouth is.

Good Luck. Others will be along to offer their wise words of wisdom.
Old 05-06-2011, 12:18 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Ann
Nature Girl

Welcome, Alice, glad you joined us.

When my son was clean, he didn't "need" anything. He always found a way to take care of himself and his own needs.