Notices

Keep Messing Up

Old 05-05-2011, 06:28 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Keep Messing Up

Ok, so I am not very good at this. I also understand the concept of this being a progressive diease. I have managed to graduate from drinking 1 bottle of wine a night to 2. This also means my hangovers have graduated from being really bad to unbearable and a plan of action needed to just get through the day.
I have been trying to reflect on what makes me drink, even when I do not want to and have come up with the following: habit, to feel normal (yes the hangovers are that bad now), to help to sleep in the evenings, depressed (in the main because I know I should not drink), but the main one that keeps flitting back is boredom. Once my son is in bed I just sit there. One thing that keeps playing over in my mind is advice from Dee: What will you do differently?
So, I was halfway through a long distance degree (paid for by work) until I decided I would rather drink instead. So I have put myself forward today for another advanced diploma paper. The exam is in October and I have to pass it or I have to foot the bill. I am also quite competitive and absolutely hate to fail so intend to use my spare time in the evening to study as hard as I can.
I am on day 2.
Old 05-05-2011, 06:39 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

D. Drew had a great quote related to this: Boredom for addicts is really depression. I'm not attempting to give second-hand medical advice but that really resonated for me.
Old 05-05-2011, 06:52 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  
New to Real Life

It was a turning point for me when I realized that the reason I drank was because I'm an alcoholic.

Normal people when depressed go on anti-depressants or try one of the many other ways to get out of it. Alcoholics drink. It's what we do.

I don't believe you will get out of this until you fully accept you're an alcoholic and you need an alcoholic's solution to recover.

I continue to wish you well
Old 05-05-2011, 07:17 AM
  # 4 (permalink)