Notices

today is day one

Old 05-04-2011, 09:16 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

today is day one

i've decided that today is my day to quit drinking for good. i have been drinking for many years and have been at the same time hurting my family. i know this is going to be a hard road but its something i gotta do to keep my family and wife. i am 32 yrs old going on 33 this month. my drinking has gotten out of my control. i find my self making any excuse to drink. i decided to get my self a gym membership today. if i have time to stop at bars i can make time to go workout and do something go for my body.

this road will not be easy for me. I have a question to the people that have been sober for years or really any one can answer this...

most of my friends are drinkers from social to heavy....how do i stop associating with these friends?
Old 05-04-2011, 09:28 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Administrator

Hey TexasGuy

I had to cut a few guys loose - one guy in particular could not accept he'd lost his drinking buddy....was always trying to get me to drink...so he simply had to go.

to be honest tho, most of the drinking buddies stopped associating with me...

Your real friends will be the ones who'll support you in this - and you'll find lots more new friends here too

Welcome

D
Old 05-04-2011, 09:54 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Welcome to SR!

I have been sober for 5 months now. For me, deciding to stop was easy. Then it was a little harder to stay stopped. And now working the steps to recovery is the actual hard part.

In the beginning I was hanging around old friends and trying to live "normal" but just not drink. After 3 months of torture I walked into my first AA meeting. I finally went into AA because I truly didn't know 1 person who wasn't a drinker. I needed to be around other non-drinkers or I knew I was gonna crack.