so sad..

Old 05-04-2011, 03:57 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Unhappy so sad..

hi..im new to this and not really sure how to explain it all...2 days ago i kicked my boyfriend out...we were together for 5 yrs...and i miss him so much...he is an alcoholic..
Old 05-04-2011, 04:00 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Hi Melloe... Welcome. We can all relate to that scenario. ((hugs))
Old 05-04-2011, 04:03 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
A jug fills drop by drop

Welcome to SR melloe!
I am sorry you are going through this.. but here, we get you.
I think breaking up with an ex who was (is) an alcoholic was the most painful thing I have lived.
But there is much hope for the future... the first days/weeks were the most difficult.
That was 2+ years ago.

Today the ex boyfriend drinks the same or more. So even when it was hard, now I know I did the best thing for ME.

My life is peaceful and way healthier. Also I know now who my real friends are, who I can really trust.

Remember the 3Cs
You can't cure him
You can't control him
You didn't cause his problem

I am glad you found this site.

Take care, let us know how you are doing.
Old 05-04-2011, 04:13 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  

I can only second what TakingCharge said. I was with my exabf 3.5 yrs, off and on. He is still drinking. I had to move on because I got put through too many traumatic situations from the alcohol, including him putting a gun in his mouth on the phone wiht me and threatening suicide.

It is hard. I feel very sad some days-others I am better. I go to al-anon and that helps.

Originally Posted by TakingCharge999 View Post

Welcome to SR melloe!
I am sorry you are going through this.. but here, we get you.
I think breaking up with an ex who was (is) an alcoholic was the most painful thing I have lived.
But there is much hope for the future... the first days/weeks were the most difficult.
That was 2+ years ago.

Today the ex boyfriend drinks the same or more. So even when it was hard, now I know I did the best thing for ME.