Notices

Boozers on TV

Old 05-03-2011, 11:47 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Boozers on TV

I'm just beginning Day 10 (hurrah!). Conscious that I'm still at a stage when I am overly-conscious of others doing things that I'm trying not to, but.....
The amount of boozing on our TV screens (at least here in the UK) is incredible.
Virtually all our soap operas (the most popular are watched by millions: over 10 % of the population at any one time) have group conversations based in the pub - and the booze flows freely, even at lunch times.
Last evening I watched the concluding episode of story about a journalist trying to work out his true parentage, having discovered that he'd been adopted. At every stress point in the story line we saw him wrapping himself around strong alcohol.
These days it's pretty unusual to see someone smoking on TV in the UK - to the extent that one notices it as being a little odd. Why are we still portraying alcohol as a prop?
I hope over time this will not bother me. At the moment, I could do without it. And as a culture, I think we could do without it also.
AL&J
Old 05-03-2011, 11:52 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Administrator

I noticed that drinking seemed to be everywhere when I quit - especially TV - but now it simply doesn't register for me.

I don't know whether it registers as strongly for people who aren't alcoholics or not.

D
Old 05-04-2011, 06:25 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

The act of drinking doesn't register that much with me any more but the advertising still does. It is everywhere.
Old 05-04-2011, 06:28 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  

One of my favorite TV Shows is How I Met Your Mother. They are pretty much always drinking on that show. When I was a user it was sort of a trigger, but now I just marvel at how much they are drinking.