Notices

Getting Started

Old 04-28-2011, 09:06 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Getting Started

I read it takes about 10 years for alcoholism to develop and I've been drinking for about 7 years. I have watched myself go from 0-1 beer a day up to 8-10 drinks a day. For the last week I cut down to 4 a day. I even promised myself I would never be a morning drinker and, yet, here I am. I don't want things to go any further.

I have absolutely no idea how to stop, I drink compulsively. I'm not taking time off work to go to a clinic and I'm not spending the money to do so. Do you have any advice? Is it all willpower to quit? Is there anything I can do to make quitting easier?

Thank you.
Old 04-28-2011, 09:12 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
dfw

Try going to an AA meeting, they're all over the place. Or find an addiction counselor, I've found my counselor to be the most helpful to me personally.

Stay on here, and read through other people's posts. JohnBarleyCorn's post about the morality of drinking might be interesting and get you thinking differently.

EDIT: And regardless of whether you haven't hit the 10 year mark according to that article, you have a problem, whether you're willing to admit it or not. We're all different physiologically, so why measure yourself against one particular article.
Old 04-28-2011, 09:19 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Over 30years ofdrinking

Originally Posted by nonameuser View Post
I read it takes about 10 years for alcoholism to develop and I've been drinking for about 7 years. I have watched myself go from 0-1 beer a day up to 8-10 drinks a day. For the last week I cut down to 4 a day. I even promised myself I would never be a morning drinker and, yet, here I am. I don't want things to go any further.

I have absolutely no idea how to stop, I drink compulsively. I'm not taking time off work to go to a clinic and I'm not spending the money to do so. Do you have any advice? Is it all willpower to quit? Is there anything I can do to make quitting easier?