To Call or Not to Call?

Old 04-09-2011, 11:42 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

To Call or Not to Call?

Hi guys! I have not been here in quite awhile, but I do need some advice/opinions now (which I know you all are amazing at!).
My husband (clean almost 3 1/2 years) has a good friend (J) who got into AA and got clean around the same time my husband did (they met at AA). Been great friends the past 3 1/2 years, even after we moved out of state. J has come down to visit a couple times and we have been back home to visit. Long story short, J relapsed somewhere in the past 6 or so months. Seemed to start out with alcohol and is now back to shooting up again. Hard to pinpoint exactly what/how/when since we live so far away, but not like any of that really matters. My problem is this. I am a nurse. J is scheduled to start nursing school in August (was just recently told he was accepted into clinicals). Now, while I am not as close with J as my husband is, I love him very much and do wish he would find his way out of this. But I know I have no control over that. But I have a big problem with him starting nursing school in the fall for several reasons. The least of which being that I could almost guarantee that it would exacerbate his addiction even more. My two big concerns are that one, he will be taking this spot away from someone who really deserves it, wants it, and will work hard (the waiting list can sometimes be a couple years to get in). Two, the idea of him being around patients, and narcotics, pisses me off. He will be responsible for people's lives (yeah, not as much at first in school, but more so if he somehow got through school), and have access to narcotics that are meant for a patient and not him. My general feeling is that I should let him know that if he does not enter (and stay in) a 30 day rehab program, I will be calling the school (same nursing school I went to) and letting them know about his addiction. Yeah, they could not do anything at all about it. But