Notices

Where were you after 60 days?

Old 03-31-2011, 05:55 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Where were you after 60 days?

I am at 60 days sober now. I’ve been posting here semi-frequently over the last few weeks, so I’ll give a little background information on myself.

I’m a 24 year old male. I finished college Spring 2010. I did not drink prior to college. For the first two and a half years of college, I drank more or less on a daily basis. I felt like I had to be at every party. I felt I was a social failure if I wasn’t drinking with others, using drugs with others, or having sex.

By the time I finished college, I drank only on weekends. I assumed that meant I had “conquered” my problem (reading the Big Book has helped me realize that I will ALWAYS have a problem).

After graduating, I felt like I was “entitled” to drink. I thought that since I was a college graduate, I was a success in life by default, and I had earned the right to drink. My drinking escalated. I had a few different jobs between May 2010 and September 2010, with my drinking and feelings of entitlement escalating throughout, as well as my unhappiness and frustration with the world around me.

I accepted a position to teach English in Spain, and I arrived at the end of October 2010. I immediately began drinking heavily at bars on the weekend, inquiring about drugs as I got drunker with the night. I told myself I had to do this – this is Europe, a once in a life time opportunity, and I need to take advantage of it…by drinking and getting high.

I began drinking on a daily basis during dinner, in order to raise my alcohol tolerance on the weekends. A couple of my drunken episodes in December could have cost me my job. Despite living rent free in Spain, my bank account was nearly empty. I was miserable, lonely, broke, and constantly worrying about my future.