Notices

Real life...

Old 03-25-2011, 12:05 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Real life...

One thing that I have learnt 'this time round' is that the happy newly sober feeling do not stay and 'real life' kicks in.

Y'know like the looking around with a clear head and feeling guilt free. Hearing the birds, looking at the blue sky and stuff.

It goes. Or at least it's not so strong. I think before when it went I always felt cheated. Like, if I'm not going to have that feeling then what's the point? Pretty stupid huh?!

I realised since then that it's just real life.

I also figured out something else. I am a very determined, stubborn and strong person and THATS the reason why I can't give up. I kept thinking if I'm so determined etc why can't I do this, but it's because of it.

I will always try and make something work if I really want it. Even if it's no good for me. I will try and try and try... And I guess that's what I've been doing (for 15 years), I just keep trying to make this work.

Just thought I would share my thoughts with you guys. I love SR, it's such a cool place and has such cool people!!
Old 03-25-2011, 12:35 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Administrator

I didn't want to be an alcoholic. My pride and stubborness were happy to get behind that idea....but I nearly killed myself that way.

I'm really glad I accepted things. I'm an alcoholic.
It got immediately easier then.

I've have a lot of ups and downs in my life since I got sober - but everything is easier to bear sober - and thats not an empty platitude.

I hope you'll find out the truth of that C
Old 03-25-2011, 05:51 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

The deeper I get into sobriety the easier everything in my life gets
Old 03-25-2011, 06:14 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  

I am an amateur on spirituality, but this Bible verse (Ecclesiastes 3:1) has served me greatly whenever real life gives me a slap in the face.

1There is an appointed time for everything. And there is a time for every event under heaven ~