I'm having some anxiety issues....big ones.

Old 03-18-2011, 01:30 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

I'm having some anxiety issues....big ones.

I've found that driving is really difficult for me.

I can go around my area of town w/ no big problem but get me anywhere near a freeway or intense traffic and I'm melting down.

Even when I'm not the one driving!
My RAH is an offensive driver...a little more aggressive than I'm comfortable. I'm a defensive driver...always thinking "is that guy in the big truck an entitlement king? is he going to swerve into my lane w/ no warning?"

I realized yesterday that my anxiety has really escalated in the past few months...even WEEKS.
We took a day trip w/ the kids yesterday...about 100 miles and I was in tears by the time we got there.

I don't know what to do.
I'm realizing it IS a problem. I need to really get this under control because it's beginning to control where I'll go and really affecting my life and that of my kids.

We were supposed to go somewhere this week but didn't ...I told them it was too crowded but really...I was too afraid to drive.

We actually did go one place, there was NO parkiing, we would have had to go to a nearby (6 blocks away) parking garage...no way could I do that.
We ended up doing something totally different. Drive in a parking garage?! Just the idea of it had me close to tears. But it ruined my kids outting because I couldn't do it.
Old 03-18-2011, 01:37 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Have you considered going to your doctor? That's what I would do. I'll be praying for you, though. Gina
Old 03-18-2011, 04:34 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

I'm realizing it IS a problem. I need to really get this under control because it's beginning to control where I'll go and really affecting my life and that of my kids.
Please talk to your doctor.
There are many ways to deal with this kind of anxiety.
If you get it now, before it gets away from you it will be easier to handle.
But, you can get better.

Beth
Old 03-18-2011, 07:19 PM