husband using cocaine

Old 03-18-2011, 06:25 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

husband using cocaine

i am new to SR and to forums in general, actually it is my first time doing this kind of thing so i'm a little nervous.
i have been dealing with my husband's cocaine use since 2008 (i wasn't sure of it at the time, but i am now). we have 2 small children and i am currently pregnant with our 3rd. most of last year i have spent either kicking him out every time i would be sure that he used (at least 5 times) or leaving with kids to stay with my parents. currently i have been at my parents' house for 8 days. my husband denied that he used last week, however refused to take a drug test. i am looking for support in dealing with my guilt and with my going back in hope of things finally getting back to normal.
thank you in advance for your support.
Old 03-18-2011, 06:50 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

pacificsunrise
Welcome to SR......I'm glad you found us. There's no reason to be nervous. You are in a place with so many people who love someone who is addicted to drugs. We understand how difficult it is and how crazy making it is. You will find that we share our stories, our strength and hope.

Usually one of the first things that we might suggest is reading the "sticky" posts at the top of this forum, reading a wonderful book by Melody Beattie called Codependent No More and seeking support from a face to face group such as Naranon or Alanon. These are the things we can do for ourselves to help us cope with our addicted loved one. We learn that we cannot control the addict but we can control ourselves and our behavior and reactions. These are the things that get me through each day.

I hope you'll stick around. You are not alone.

gentle hugs
Old 03-18-2011, 07:37 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

thank you Kindeyes for your welcome and encouragement. i look forward to interacting with everyone and getting the support that i need.
Old 03-18-2011, 11:53 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  
tam