Notices

Did anybody quit for the first time, no relapse?

Old 03-14-2011, 10:17 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Question Did anybody quit for the first time, no relapse?

This is my first time making a conscience decision to quit drinking. I keep telling myself that if I eff this up, it is going to be even harder the second time around. I am a binge drinker and I am terrified that I would be the one who doesn't wake up after a relapse. My relapse fears are huge and they're irrational, as if I'm going to wake up with someone pouring a bottle of wine down my throat, LOL.

So my question is did anybody ever quit the first time and never go back? How long have you been sober? Any other thoughts?
Old 03-14-2011, 10:21 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Groovy Dancer

This is a common concern. There are plenty of people that haven't relapsed. A common thing I read here when someone relapses is that they finnaly thought they could drink normal, and just have a couple. They couldn't. You can't. Keep working on sobriety. You can do this.
Old 03-14-2011, 10:27 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Administrator

Well I tried to quit for a length of time before, or I tried to moderate and/or control my drinking on a weekly basis for years.

This is the first time tho I accepted what I was and why I can't drink, and this is the first time I've actively worked to stay sober rather than hoping, wishing and kinda trying.

I'm nearly 4 years and counting.

I don't believe relapses just happen - they never did with me...I made conscious decions to drink or conscious decisions not to stop myself....

keep the work up and keep vigilant about your alcoholism - reach out if in trouble....and you have nothing to fear but fear itself IAFB

D
Old 03-14-2011, 10:56 PM
  # 4 (permalink)