Notices

Third Time's the Charm

Old 03-13-2011, 04:34 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Third Time's the Charm

Hey everyone, this is the first time I have visited and posted on the forum.

I am using this forum because I want to help myself quit drinking and quit smoking marijuana, and I would like to help other people if I can.

I am a 24 year old male. I "seriously" tried to quit using substances twice during college (I graduated May 2010). Both times I was convinced I would never do either again. Both times, after a few months, I relapsed -- for many reasons, but mostly due to peer pressure.

I don't want this to happen again. I have been sober for 41 days, and I want to do everything I can to stay sober for the rest of my life.

Anyway, I wanted to introduce myself before I started posting on the forum.
Old 03-13-2011, 04:45 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Hi There

I am fairly new to recovery myself, I have been sober since New Years, and I too am 24 I have found support through AA, it works for me.

I wish you all the best on your journey of self discovery and healing
Old 03-13-2011, 04:50 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  
ste
unlearning

Welcome BSJ and Theo, glad you're here. We can, and do, help each other. Its a remarkable site.
Old 03-13-2011, 05:13 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  

Welcome to SR! Glad you found us :-)

I signed on to SR in 2007, quit for 45 days or so, then went back to my old ways. Tried quitting again a year or so later, but that didn't last long. FINALLY I quit in March 2010 and I'm still sober . I take things one day at a time (really one evening at a time as that's when I drank). Anyhow I wrote all that because the third time was a charm for me, as I hope it can be for you. Maybe the peer pressure will be gone now that you've graduated? What do you plan on doing differently? Keep posting and keep us updated.
Old 03-13-2011, 05:18 AM
  # 5 (permalink)