Notices

Please share your recovery plan!

Old 03-11-2011, 05:14 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Please share your recovery plan!

Hi! I'm new to sobriety and would really appreciate to hear about your recovery plan. How have you stayed sober? Thank you!!!
Old 03-11-2011, 05:46 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Administrator

I think that recovery is a personal journey and a life-long journey.

I have a few books that have helped me immensely.

I work on myself every day - physically, mentally and spiritually.

I believe that balance is key and I try to stay focused on that.

And, I come here every day and have for years. This place is my lifeline.
Old 03-11-2011, 06:51 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

I plan to wake up tomorrow, be really grateful I didn't drink today, and want to feel the same way the day after that.

I plan to catch myself every time I start to romanticize alcohol, and remind myself how miserable it made me, and what it did to all my friends here at SR.

And then I plan to feel really grateful all over again, because as hopeless as it once seemed, I took a deep breath and gave it another try.
Old 03-11-2011, 07:14 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  
6/20/08

If I could combine Anna's and Ready's posts, I'd use it! I do think the biggest thing has been SR. Even if I try to sneak away, I come lurking back in.

Welcome to SR, btw.
Old 03-11-2011, 07:16 PM
  # 5 (permalink)  

I'd start by looking at the support and resources around you. People's personal beliefs can influence which recovery mode they choose. It's always good if you can work with a doctor, to formulate a recovery plan and look at what other assessments may be necessary. I think having a good structure improves chances of recovery, but you get out of it what you put in. Welcome and maybe check out the recovery stories section of the site, that can help give you a good idea of the different types of recovery.