New here, saying hello......

Old 03-05-2011, 04:54 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

New here, saying hello......

hello. I am new to this entire process, hope I am posting in correct place.
I am adult child of alcoholics, and stupidly enough love my 'significant other' of ten months who is also an alcoholic. I am living with my 64 yr old father, and my significant other, and some days I just want to run away and never come back. Hoping this will be not only a place to vent, but a place to learn, support others, and figure this thing called life out.
Thank you for being here,
md8
Old 03-05-2011, 06:19 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Welcome and sorry for what brings you here. I grew up with an AF and a crazy making mother. I am now married to my AH and been with him for almost 9 years. Though he was in recovery when we met and married. It is a hard life to life with addiction and I am sending prayers out to you. I am not sure what else you are doing for your recovery so I will tell you what I am doing. I see a counselor every week, go to online meetings, read everything I can get my hands on, journal my thoughts daily and I come on this site. Please remember you did not CAUSE it, you cannot CONTROL it, and you cannot CURE it. You can only take very good care of yourself.
Old 03-05-2011, 06:23 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Welcome!!!!
Your going to find a really great support network here. Even when we codies fall off our wagon and make mistakes...we still are there for one another...
Old 03-06-2011, 01:58 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  

Welcome
Old 03-06-2011, 07:06 AM
  # 5 (permalink)  

Yep, you can vent here along with the rest of us. Welcome!
Old 03-06-2011, 09:25 AM
  # 6 (permalink)  
same planet...different world

Welcome!

I hope you'll make new friends
who understand.
Old 03-06-2011, 10:59 AM
  # 7 (permalink)  
A work in progress

It's not stupid to love an alcoholic, whether in recovery or not.

It CAN be very difficult, and crazy-making (whether in recovery or not).