Notices

Breaking the cycle.

Old 02-21-2011, 01:21 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Breaking the cycle.

G'day. I've been reading other posts on this site and thought I should muster the courage to give it a go. Four years ago, after a good dozen admissions to hospital for supervised withdrawal from alcohol it was suggested by a drug and alcohol counsellor that I attend a rehabilitation facility. I was a resident at one for six months after which I participated in their half-way program. I eased back into the mainstream with some volunteer work and then some part time study before going on to complete a diploma. I had made AA part of my life and was attending at least seven meetings a week. I got a sponsor and worked through the first five steps and I took on a service position. Thinking ( there's the problem!) that I had a solid recovery I applied for a Job off- shore and found myself working a 28 day swing. I wasn't putting alcohol into my system, so no cravings and there was no mental obsession with alcohol, although there was obsession evident in other areas of my life regarding exercise and money. I stopped attending meetings a I felt like I had laid the alcohol problem to rest. So more fool me, after 3 years and nineteen days I got to watch myself go up to an airport bar and order a pint of stout. Cravings triggered, mental obsession strong as ever, what was all AA theory became fact. Mental blank spot! I am now thirty day sober and having to look at where I went wrong, I like hearing that this is a spiritual malady and that I need a spiritual solution, trying hard to lay aside my atheistic thinking. I like to think that there is a reality behind what I perceive with my five senses but I am bewildered when it comes to the thought of an interventionist deity that will remove my shortcomings. Having said that I have seen evidence of faith in other lives, why not me aye? Anyway Thanks for the opportunity to have a rant.
Kind regards
Old 02-21-2011, 01:49 PM