Notices

When is it ok to drink?

Old 02-19-2011, 03:10 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

When is it ok to drink?

im 21, been an alcoholic for 9 years now. Is it ok to drink only on holidays like non alcoholics do?
Old 02-19-2011, 03:35 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
RunsInTheFamily

Wow as far as I can tell you is that if you can afford staying off it, then do so. As an alcoholic, its difficult to maintain control on your drinks. But if you can afford doing so, sure why not go ahead

1 simple trick that I use is that I drink only among family as they know my problem and they will always look after your welfare.

Or another one is always be with someone who knows your problem and can control you if you getting a bit of excessive in swallowing the shots

best of luck to ya
Old 02-19-2011, 03:52 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Administrator

Hi TigerLover

I have 20 years experience at it that says it's never safe to drink if you're an alcoholic.

Once I drink, all bets are off - and with all due respect, not even friends 'standing guard' could stop me.

D
Old 02-19-2011, 04:03 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  
Moment of Conception

Hey Tiger, welcome to SR.
So are you saying that you were confirmed to be alcoholic around 12 yrs old?
If thats so, then you must have been drinking for sometime before that. The abuse at such a youg age and too such undeveloped organs would to me suggest that you really should not drink at all, and if you can, try and make up for it now by being good to yourself. A good first step would be to see a doctor and tell them what you have posted here, im sure you will get the advice you are looking for. :-)
Old 02-19-2011, 04:05 AM
  # 5 (permalink)  

Originally Posted by tigerlover View Post
im 21, been an alcoholic for 9 years now. Is it ok to drink only on holidays like non alcoholics do?
You've been an alcoholic since you were 12!!! ?? I cannot even answer or comment your question cause this sounds like it's more complicated then just "about" drinking.