new

Old 02-12-2011, 06:07 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

new

Hello all,

I'm new to this website- I actually found it by studying for my comp exam for college. I'm a 23 year old student studying psychology- getting my degree in may. I hope to work with people with eating disorders or alcoholsm.
I have recently lost my uncle at 44 years old to alcoholism- December 19th 2010. It has been extremely hard for my entire family to deal with this- especially around Christmas time- just trying to be strong but deep down we are a mess. As someone who is studying psychology - I wish there was something we could have done. But, we did it all..put him in hospitals he would sign himself out..and so on..the same story everyday. He also lost his dad- my grandfather to alcoholism. So yes alcoholism runs in my family my grandfather and my uncle dying of this. Is there anyone else you has lost someone recently to alcoholism?
Old 02-12-2011, 07:33 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

My husband, only he's still very much alive and kicking. But I lost him to alcoholism. Shoot - I think alcohol had me beat from the get-go anyway.

Sorry about your Uncle. Very dad to lose someone to this disease, I imagine.

And congrats on the almost graduation! That's great!
Old 02-12-2011, 07:38 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Forum Leader

Hi Amanda!

Welcome to SR!!! There are many others here who have lost people very dear to them because of addiction.

There is a forum here for grief and loss. You will find folks there, too, who have been through very personal loss.

You have my deepest sympathy on the loss of your Uncle.

Hugs, HG
Old 02-12-2011, 09:57 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  
A jug fills drop by drop

Hi amanda
This is the link for the Grief forum
Grief and Loss - SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information

I am so sorry about your loss. It is very hard to lose someone due to addiction, sometimes they leave physically, sometimes they are still around as walking shells but they are already gone.