Notices

Wanting to quit with my spouse

Old 02-12-2011, 04:30 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Wanting to quit with my spouse

Hi, and glad I found this. I have read a lot of topics, but want some advice when both spouses are alcoholics. I have been drinking for 15 years and heavily the last 3, around 1 liter of vodka a night. My wife is a different drinker and likes to go out and party and does not drink every day, but has lately been making some horrible decisions. We have only been married 8 months and were together a few years before getting married.

Our marraige has been in shambles and I can directly relate every fight, money issue, etc. directly to alcohol. I was trying to think of a time that it was not what caused the problem and could not think of one. Last night was the 1st night I can ever remember not having a drink.

I have been reading online articles all day long and want to quit to better my life. I would also like her to quit to better her life and ours as a couple, becuase I truly believe without this, we are never going to make it and just resent one another.

I have tried different google combinations and find it hard to find information when both parties of a marriage are alcoholics and also what to do if she decides not to do it.

Thank you all for the great and helpful topics that I have read so far!

Last edited by ThomasJ; 02-12-2011 at 04:31 PM. Reason: I'm 35 if that makes a difference.
Old 02-12-2011, 04:43 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

I just watched an old Intervention tv show where both spouses were alcoholics. They were sent to separate rehabs since they both needed to concentrate on themselves.

I don't have any personal experience with this subject, though.

Welcome to SR.
Old 02-12-2011, 04:49 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Forward we go...side by side-Rest In Peace

Your situation is out of my area of experience..
I was not married when my drinking slid me into addiction.

Others will be along with more insight ...but I wanted to