Notices

Can I quit abusing then take as prescribed?

Old 01-17-2011, 04:18 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Can I quit abusing then take as prescribed?

I have chronic tmj pain. I talk for a living so it's hard to rest my jaw. I have to work. I have flareups 2 to 3 times a week. Sometimes the only way I get through my presentations is by taking a 10mg perc. I was Prescribed up to 2 10mg percs per day for the past 2 years. My DR said as long as I skipped a few days in between taking them I would not get dependent. The first year that's what I did. Just Took the pills just when I was in bad pain usually a couple days per week and had no withdrawal symptoms when I wasn't taking them. Then I discovered they gave me energy so this past year I started taking them for other reasons in addition to still taking them for the jaw pain. Now I am taking 2 - 3 10s per day every day and when I try to skip a couple days I feel sick so I take them every day now to avoid being sick. I want to get back to just taking them when I have jaw pain a couple days per week.

Tell me if this plan will work. I have been tapering off over the last 3 weeks and am currently down to 1/2 pill a day (5 mgs) showing little withdrawal symptoms. Tomorrow will be my first day with NO pill. I plan to not take ANY for a week, regardless of my jaw pain, and then start taking them again, correctly again which is only when my TMJ flares up. Given my situation does this sound like a realistic plan?
Old 01-17-2011, 04:26 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Administrator

You really need to talk to your dr.

We can't give any kind of medical advice, but I'm sure your dr will help you with a plan.
Old 01-17-2011, 04:33 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Life the gift of recovery!