Notices

Newly Registered - Day 82 Sober

Old 01-14-2011, 02:27 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Newly Registered - Day 82 Sober

I have tons of questions but will hold off so that I don't overwhelm all of you as well as myself. I completed a 30 day treatment program outside of State College, Pa. for a severe Prescription Pain Medication addiction of about 15 years due to a severe Arthritic condition called Ankylosing Spondylitis as well as Degenerative Disc Disease. I also had a cervical fusion in 1995 in which I was surgically fused between C-2 and C-6 both front and back of my neck. Needless to say years and years of willful abuse of medication also contributed to mixing my meds with alcohol, especially Scotch. I graduated from rehab on November 23rd. What a great day. One of my questions would be did anyone else find themselves being homesick for rehab? As each day passes I miss it so much. Since my wife has great insurance it paid for a stay that cost around $24,000 so it was a very nice place to be at. When I first got there I wanted out so badly now I wish in a way I were back.

My other question is I have had a tendency to isolate myself especially now that I'm retired on disability. When I first got out I went to Mass, meetings and now in the last two weeks I have returned to my old isolation ways. I haven't used or had a drink and really have no desire despite the physical pain. I read somewhere that I could be described as a "dry drunk" which I know isn't good. I've also kept my moods positive around my family as I refuse to be like I was before, so judgmental and angry although not towards my family. Any help, advice would be appreciated. Thanks and God bless.
Old 01-14-2011, 02:41 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
everything is already ok

Welcome to SR Charlie. My experience with Isolation is that its a killer, its part of my disease and leads me to dark places, self pity, anger, resentment and back into the cycle of addiction.