Notices

Hello everyone...First full day of being sober

Old 01-03-2011, 12:58 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Hello everyone...First full day of being sober

Hello all, I thought I would start off by introducting myself. My name is Logan, I am 23 years old and I am a recent college graduate. At this point in my life I am trying to figure out my next step.

I made a decision for myself that I wanted to try and go 30 days completely sober. I started drinking when I was 15 years old and I realized that I have been drinking and using for 8 years now. Whe I sat and thought about the last time that I have been sober for a full week....I couldn't. I can't remember.

I guess a little bit about my habits. I drink and typically heavily. I drink liquor of all kinds, beer, and wine all in the same day. I don't really have a problem mixing them. I smoke about a pack of cigarettes a day. On top of that I smoke marijuana regulrly and in the past month (December, 2010) I went on a severe cocaine binge. All of this mixed with several prescription medications- adderall, xanax, ambien, lortabs, etc...

I have also experimented with other drugs in the past such as acid and molly.

I have finally come to the realization that I am a trainwreck. I play it off too well though. Sometimes I wish it were easier for me to show that I have a problem but I dont think that even my mother has a clue as to how bad my situation has become.

I've notices mood changes, severe depression, and a lot of anxiety in the past month that further pushes me to drink or use.

There are other thoughts that plague my head that I turn to drinking or using to help them go away...

I honestly just feel like a trainwreck/disaster.

But today was my first full day of being sober. (I smoked 4 cigarettes, however and I just now have taken an ambien because I absolutely cannot fall asleep). I wanted to go completely clean and I am not sure that I am accomplishing that by taking ambien and smoking those cigarettes? Opinions?