Notices

Its all about finding your higher self

Old 12-21-2010, 10:29 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Its all about finding your higher self

This is what most aa members who have managed to quit long term have in common. They have a healthy spiritual awareness and pray regularly to God. Im struggling with this. I would love to get the peace that so many of the others seem to be able to get. I mentioned it twice at group meetings and was told that the group would work as my higher power for now.
Old 12-21-2010, 11:14 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Forward we go...side by side-Rest In Peace

Have you restarted your Steps with a sponsor?
That might benefit you just now a lot.

That's the point that got me into solid recovery.

I have no experience in useing the group as a HP
tho I've heard others say they do that. I

Old 12-21-2010, 11:29 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Administrator

I really hope you find that peace too Eddie - if you commit yourself to working for it, I think you will

D
Old 12-22-2010, 01:55 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  

Hi eddie. I think it's important to remember that you can't get 15 years worth of sobriety in a day or two. Like it takes time to heal and time to develop and spiritual awakenings are often of the "educational variety" to quote AA BB i.e- they don't happen overnight in a flash but rather gradual over time and others often notice it in your general persona before you do.