Notices

It's getting out of control--new member

Old 12-08-2010, 06:27 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  
Lost In Translation

It's getting out of control--new member

Hi......I looked at this board a week ago and never had the guts to post anything but I think now is the right time. I can't keep running away.
I am just hoping people on this forum are nice, supportive people.

I guess I"m still in denial.........I've been drinking and taking pills for 10+ years. I"m 26. Female. Maryland.
I just went out to the local liquor store to buy a bottle of Southern Comfort. I just cannot stop. I cannot stop.
I think it's really hard because my parents have alcohol in the house and I ........the other day I tried to explain to my mom that I have a problem and she said "just have more self control" but it's more than that. It's a hunger, craving, obsession.
I think .....maybe I did hit rock bottom.......my friend brought over a bottle of Jager last night and he spent the night with me-my parents are in Puerto Rico now. and I ended up somehow hitting my head on a wall and my eye is black and red and.........I just have to stop drinking.
I'm just introducing myself...I can say more later once I get to know people.
I want help. It's an endless cycle that requires more and more drinking/the hunger.....more and more. Nothing good ends up from this. I realize that now.
Old 12-08-2010, 06:37 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
We Do Recover

Welcome! Glad you are here. As long as you have the desire to stop drinking there is hope. There are things you can do about it. Being open minded and posting here--plus listening to what others have to share...that is a start. Keep reaching out. You are not alone. Sometimes they say when "we" get sick of tired of being sick and tired....that presents an opportunity>an opportunity to change. I couldn't change by myself. I needed help from others that understood what I was going through. Don't give up hope! Help is possible! We do recover.
Old 12-08-2010, 06:41 PM