Giving it another try.

Old 12-08-2010, 05:06 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Giving it another try.

Hi. I haven't posted here in a really long time, but I check in quite a bit and read the posts. I've been drinking daily for almost 25 years with few breaks. The longest period of continuous sobriety in that time was 5 months. I was able to get about 3 weeks of continuous sobriety last summer. I'm in my mid 40's and it's really starting to take it's toll. This morning I called an outpatient treatment center and made an appointment to start a treatment plan. They said they are not strictly 12-step and are supportive of SMART Recovery. I've gone to a couple of SMART meetings in the past. I just checked the SMART website and there are found there are four meetings a week here in the city where I live.

I really am at a point where I know if I don't do something quick I am taking some serious years off of my life and am open to everything. I know the rules and will discuss my plans for incorporating non-SMART meetings in the Secular 12-step section. My appointment isn't until next Wednesday, but I felt like I was walking on air all day today because I was so excited that I finally took some action towards change. I asked the treatment center about their programing and they told me they don't take a one-size fits all approach. Some patients have programming every day, others once or twice a week. Some are involved in group therapy, others one-on-one and many are involved in both. I'm really looking forward to finding out more. And the best part, my insurance will cover almost all of it except for some co-pays. I feel so lucky I'm getting another chance. Thank you all for letting me post.
Old 12-08-2010, 05:35 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
We Do Recover

Keep moving forward. Glad to hear that you are looking into different types of recovery. That's a start. Keep posting. We do recover.
Old 12-08-2010, 05:50 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Administrator

Welcome back Anthony V.