Notices

He loves me

Old 12-04-2010, 03:57 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Angry He loves me

Through everything I have done while I was drinking he still loves me. I don't deserve it!!! I want to tell him every day until I die that I'm sorry and I love him. I did the unthinkable. I kissed my neighbor. I don't like him. I'm not attracted to him. He's a drunk like me. I have been mad at my husband for years for his dishonesty and situations that didn't look right to me. And look what I did. I'm scum. I feel horrible. I never would have been around him if I wasn't drinking. I'm glad he knows. I told him. My husband and I talked. He helped me to see and accept what I already knew. That everything bad that has happened to me has had to do with my drinking. All I have ever wanted was to know that he loves me. Now I don't feel like I deserve it. I have never done anything like this before. I don't ever want to hurt this man again. How can he just forgive me? I have carried around anger towards him for years. Now this...I have everything I could ever want. So why do I keep making mistakes and drinking? I AM SO SORRY. This is not me. This is not the person I want to be. I don't think I will ever feel worthy of his love. I am tired of being depressed and feeling like a failure. I don't want to be sad anymore. There has to be another way to feel good other than drinking!!!
Old 12-04-2010, 04:14 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Administrator

I think a major part of recovery is learning to forgive ourselves too Joiner.

We are not what we did. We're more than that - we're better than that.

You're not scum. You have an addiction, but you're working hard to change your life - that's the important bit.

We all did stuff we regret...but we have to move on from it and focus on the now...if we hang on to the past it can consume us and the shame and disgust can pull us back to our old ways.