Being Aggressive, Passive, or Assertive..WHICH ?

Old 11-22-2010, 03:48 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Question Being Aggressive, Passive, or Assertive..WHICH ?

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Their are three ways to react when someone crosses the line and your boundaries have been violated....1)Stay Passive....say nothing and it will continue 2) Get aggresive and it might stop but someone might get hurt 3) Try Assertiveness and get results....In the household I grew up in staying shut and not making more trouble was the best option. Today in recovery I refuse to be treated like a doormat. Some addicts need to SHUT UP MORE and SOME need TO SPEAK UP MORE....Thats me...I NEED More Practice being Assertive. Im getting a little bit better at it. This assertiveness is a good way in expressing anger in a positive way. Im just learning this. And it will also help with resentfulness. Any suggestions on this topic ? Im Open...Thanks Clean
Old 11-23-2010, 06:35 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

I found that learning to be assertive was a very difficult thing for me to do, especially with pushy people or people who have no boundaries of their own.

I also have my own moral compass that tells me I don't want to ever behave in a way that I can't stand back and admire myself for. In other words, I am not a mean person and I don't ever want to be mean, even when someone else is being "mean" to me.

My therapist gave me this tool: repeat repeat repeat.