Frustrated

Old 11-15-2010, 02:06 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Frustrated

Hi,

I'm new to this and not sure where to begin so I'll just say what I came here to say/ask. I recently called off a short term relationship with a guy who is an addict. He is addicted to pain pills and alcohol. We were together only 3 months but in that time period he stole money from me and pawned my jewelry.
After we split he spoke with me about recovery and how he was going to get help. I know that after doing a lot of research that addicts do lie. However, almost everyday for the past 3 weeks after we split he called me. He told me he was doing well and that he was taking it one day at a time. He was looking at finding AA meetings and Narcotics Anonymous meetings as well. He even went and made an appointment with and in patient/out patient rehab center. He seemed on the road to recovery and I was the friend praising him for his steps. He even suggested I buy the AA book because he was reading it and it might benefit me as well to understand what he was going through.

Then about a 1 1/2 weeks ago the phone calls started slowly getting to be less often. Then suddenly I've received nothing for a week. I have tried calling him a few times and even left him a long voice mail letting him know that I was here for him even if he was back to using again.

I have to admit, I believe I've become codependent. I have been really worked up about this and find myself wanting to go to sleep early and not really having much of an appetite. I've pretty much kept my phone glued to me. I am sure it is best that he's cut off contact with me but I can't help but be worried for him.