Notices

It's all new to me

Old 11-11-2010, 08:54 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  
MMN

It's all new to me

Hi - I'm new to this and to this site so please excuse in advance any gaffes on my part. I quit deinking for the first time in my life 5 days ago because I was finally called out on it by people I trust and respect. I've been drinking every day for years - beer, then wine and (inevitably) graduating to vodka. I didn't like what I was becoming but thought I could handle it. I can't. So 5 days into sobriety I'm feeling much better (appetite, energy, sleep patterns etc) but I've no idea what to expect 2, 3 ,6 months from now with respect to withdrawal symptoms. Any pointers and/or advice?
Thanks
Old 11-11-2010, 10:15 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Administrator

Hi MMN

I'm afraid thats pretty much like asking how long is a piece of string LOL.

Everyone has a story and I can guarantee every one of them you'll probably hear here will be at least slightly different.

For me the physical withdrawal vanished within the first week, usually...but cravings (either physical and especially mental) could last much longer than that.

I actually think it's best to focus on a day to day basis, at least to begin with.

It made it easier for me to think of it that way than to think of forever...but again, there are different schools of thought about that too.

There are no road maps I'm afraid - these are very personal journeys IMO - but I hope you'll get some guidance from what you read around the site

Welcome
D
Old 11-11-2010, 10:47 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
MMN

Dee:
Thanks for the welcome.
I've already found a lot of wisdom on the site.
I don't find myself craving alcohol at all, just not knowing how to fill the gaps that it used to fill. I guess that's about figuring out a different way to live?
Old 11-12-2010, 12:00 AM
  # 4 (permalink)