Notices

On 2 day......

Old 11-10-2010, 08:53 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

On 2 day......

This is probably my 4th time trying to stop drinking. I was sober for 6 months, about 2.5 years ago. Most recently, I had 5 days in August. How pitiful does that sound I'm on day 2. Really want this to work. My spouse has no idea I've been drinking for the 2 years...pretty heavily. I have been able to hide it, which makes the guilt even worse. I drink every day, starting around 10am and ending at bedtime. Vodka and alot of it. I'm able to "do" life and be fairly successful in what I do. Until recently, that is. I'm starting to lose time......and there is a lot of fighting.

Slept horribly last night, sweating and itchy. Never had the itchy stuff before...hoping it goes away. It feels like bugs are crawling on me.

I'm starting to pray a lot. I'm so ready to live life and have a clear mind. Stop the hiding and guilt.
Old 11-10-2010, 09:16 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Psalm 118:24

Do you have any alcohol in the house now???
Old 11-10-2010, 10:01 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Welcome to SR! Congrats on your decision not to drink. If you have been drinking vodka from 10 am in the morning on you are a prime candidate for a nasty withdrawal and DT's. Do yourself a favor and seek medical help, alcohol withdrawals can be extremely dangerous. I admitted myself to a detox hospital where I was given medication to make me more comfortable and lower the risks of having a seizure. Being confined in a hospital for a few days gave me the start I needed.

I too had quit many times on my own, once for six months but I always wound up drinking more than I had previously and in a much worse situation. I discovered that when I asked for help there was tons available. I like most people could not do it on my own. I hooked up with AA got a sponsor and worked the steps and I have been sober since. The need and desire to drink went away.

Good Luck In Your Recovery
Old 11-10-2010, 10:07 AM
  # 4 (permalink)