Notices

"Newcomer"

Old 11-09-2010, 10:52 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Unhappy "Newcomer"

Hi,
I have never done anything like this before I don't no what i'm doing so could someone please help me. I just had my 8th month anniversary Nov 6, 2010. My sponsor wants to wait a year before going through the steps with me is that normal? She says that you live the steps as while as go through them so it's no rush. She also doesn't give me advice unless I ask for it I don't get her. PLEASE HELP!

Old 11-09-2010, 11:00 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Yes I am in Alcohol Anonymous..
Old 11-09-2010, 11:05 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  
dopeless hope fiend

meetings are important. they're great. i couldn't recover without them, but the solution to my problem is found in the steps. and to find that solution i have to work the steps. i'm at 11 months clean and am writing my 4th step. not a chance in hell i would've been willing to wait until a month from now to begin step 1. as soon as i started my step work my inner life began to shift, which led me to continue down the path.

not working steps for a year would have been very dangerous for me. i needed to change who i am on the inside, and meetings and abstinence are not gonna do that for me. it's in the steps.
Old 11-09-2010, 11:31 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  

Originally Posted by martymars View Post
My sponsor wants to wait a year before going through the steps with me is that normal? She says that you live the steps as while as go through them so it's no rush.
I've been living the program of AA for a number of years, worked with many guys sponsoring them through the Steps.

Rarely will I say something as bluntly as telling you that your sponsor is full of crap and you should find a new one ASAP. That should eliminate all ambiguity about my feelings on this.