Sorry, I can't help it... I love to share good news!!

Old 11-03-2010, 01:07 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Sorry, I can't help it... I love to share good news!!

Hi All,

I only pop in here from time to time as I have no experience dealing with active addicts or alcoholics, so I usually have no advice to give to people going through such...

BUT I do love to share good news! So my bf that I have been dating for 5 months is celebrating 18 months of sobriety today! Yay! He is very strong in his commitment to his recovery and I do not see him relapsing at all.

I know many of you here were very concerned for me when I first discussed the possibility of dating this man, but I did follow my heart and gave him a chance. I am very happy that I did. I have had 5 very happy months together with him so far.

But I have not fooled myself into thinking that he is fully recovered and that we can go about having a "normal" relationship. I still keep my eyes open for any "signs" of relapse, but in all honesty I do trust him and I trust that he has quit for good. He knows what he needs to do to stay clean/sober and he does it. I do not interfere, I can only encourage. (And it works out anyway as I lead a very busy life and couldn't be there for him 24/7 anyway!)

So I know this isn't the typical post on this board, but I hope you can find it in yourselves to be happy for me. And you can rest assured that if it all goes to hell in a handbasket at least I was duly warned!!

Hugs,

T
Old 11-03-2010, 01:09 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
To thine own self be true.

I am VERY happy for you! So glad everything is working out! Thanks for sharing.
Old 11-03-2010, 07:33 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Tatertot
I am happy for you. Enjoy the "now" and don't worry about what may or may not happen in the future. Today he is sober and you are happy. And that's all good.

gentle hugs
Old 11-03-2010, 08:15 PM
  # 4 (permalink)