newbie with all of this

Old 10-28-2003, 06:00 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  
Paused

newbie with all of this

I am so happy that I found this site. I have been walking around for the past 5 years thinking I was losing my mind,(still not too sure I'm not).
My AH has been getting progressively worse over the past few years, we have three kids ages 14,7,and 4. i've finally come to the realization that they need me to be as stable for them as I possibly can. Which to me means not reacting to everything that my AH says or does when he's under the influence, (which is 90%of the time that he's around the house). I went to my first Al-Anon meeting Sunday evening and felt a little stronger afterwards. I just have a question for everyone, how many should you go to per week? I live in a fairly populated area where there is one almost every night that I could attend. I'm just not sure how much is too much or not enough. Thanks for listening and any input would be greatly appreciated.
Old 10-28-2003, 06:52 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

hi april and welcome!!!

good for you for getting to your first meeting. taking good care of you will be nothing but good for you and your children....no matter what your husband does or doesn't do.

i don't think there's any set rule about how many mtgs to go to each week.

i'm pretty new to all of this too and my sponsor gave me some guidance because i asked about it and needed the structure. i am so rule-bound, know what i mean?

she wants me to commit to 3 mtgs a week. i many times need and go to more, but 3's my minimum. i've noticed the times i've gone to less than that, like if i let 4 or 5 days go by with no mtg, i can get pretty batty. 3's pretty do-able with kids too...somehow between lunch and evening and weekend mtgs, i can find 3 to get to.

so, good luck and keep coming back!!!
Old 10-28-2003, 09:06 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Queen of one liners

Welcome April;

So glad you found us...There are no rules in Al-Anon only suggestions.....