Notices

New to forum

Old 10-26-2010, 07:07 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

New to forum

Hello all and very glad I found SR site. I have just recently decided to stop drinking and need a little advise.

I have been drinking for about 25 years. I would say that for 20 of those years I was a "social drinker" with maybe a few binges every month or so. Alcohol caused very little problems in my life but I could clearly see it progressing in importance in my life.

For the last few years I have started drinking just about every evening. Usually about 750ml of wine each night, sometimes a liter. One year ago I lost an excellent job I had for over 18 years. The company just folded and I have not been able to find full time employment.

So for the the past year I have been drinking about 1.5 liter of wine just about every day. Sometimes more... It has developed into a problem in my life and I want to stop.

Since I lost my job I have no health insurance (more important to pay the regular bills and mortgage and try and keep my home?).
Anyway, given my level of alcohol intake (1.5 liter wine/day) and generally fit
guy of 48 years/ 200 lbs. Do you advise some kind of detox? before stopping cold turkey? Any advise would be appreciated as I try to start this new journey..

Last edited by crashin; 10-26-2010 at 07:13 AM. Reason: spelling
Old 10-26-2010, 07:18 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Well, detox is always the safe advice... it's different for everyone... talk to your doctor if you can... get a plan.

Welcome to SR!!
Old 10-26-2010, 07:19 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  
bona fido dog-lover

At the rate you've been drinking it would be a good idea to have medical help in getting thru the w/d. Alcohol withdrawals can be dangerous so it's good to have help getting thru them. If you can't afford to go to your doctor, maybe a visit to the emergency room if any problems arise... altho given the high cost of ER maybe cheaper to see your doctor.