Notices

Some questions, and help.

Old 10-18-2010, 04:18 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Some questions, and help.

I'm new to this, so, hello to all of you. I'm 27 years old, I live in Los Angeles, and have been drinking around 8 to 12 beers every night for I'd say about 6 years. My GF is actually in recovery and 2 years sober and I also would like to get some help myself. Her sister was killed by a drunk driver and although I NEVER drink and drive, it concerns me about my drinking because I can't even imagine two people that she loves dying because of alcohol. I understand there are many types of alcoholics and I have many friends that are right there with me when it comes to drinking every night. Having a GF thats also in recovery and hearing the stories of people she comes in contact with at meetings really makes me feel that I don't need AA. I don't drink during the day at all and im active everyday with my skateboarding. The only real reason I drink anymore is so that I can sleep, and I feel like if I could accomplish that without alcohol it wouldn't be a problem at all. So I more less just would like to hear some advice, meds (never have been big on medication regardless of what it is), ways to go about this so that I don't suffer from DT's. The biggest fear that I have from quitting drinking is the fact that I can die from it. So any help at all would be much appreciated and im truly thankful and open to here and suggestions. Thanks to anyone who reads this or decides to give a response. -B
Old 10-18-2010, 05:15 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
12-Step Recovered Alkie

Bropes..... just go see your doctor, really. Maybe hit up a free clinic or something similar. Tell them EXACTLY how you drink. They are the ones to ask.