Notices

I can't stop

Old 10-11-2010, 06:00 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  
I'm here to learn!

I can't stop

Hey all -

I've been hanging around for a while but never posted till tonight. I have been fighting to get clean for about 6 months now and keep relapsing. I just got off a huge bender this last weekend and feel like complete crap, anxious, shaking, was a mess at work this morning, etc.

I just can't seem to stay sober for any great length of time. Made it about a month when I first realized I needed to quit and then relapsed. I've been making it for about a week at a time before going back to the bottle for a few. This has kind of been the pattern for my life the past six months but I want out.

I don't know what to do, I am now at the point where I feel like I have no control. Every drink feels like a nail in my coffin but I can't seem to stop the process.

Please tell me it's possible to get sober and stay sober! I need to hear it from those that have been there before, because my friends and family just don't "get it" - even though they have been supporting and loving.

Thanks,
-E
Old 10-11-2010, 06:04 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
We Do Recover

Welcome! Glad you are here. It is possible to get and stay sober. This place has helped me alot with my recovery. There is hope! We do recover.
Old 10-11-2010, 06:07 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
12-Step Recovered Alkie

It's possible.......and it's really quite simple........but it's not easy (heh, you knew that though).

google AA, find a local office, give them a call, they'll tell you where a local meeting is, go to the meeting and say you're new and looking for a sponsor.
Old 10-11-2010, 06:09 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  
Forward we go...side by side-Rest In Peace

Many of us have been in the same cycle of sober-drink-sober

We understand ...and...Yes you too can win over alcohol

Welcome....
Old 10-11-2010, 06:10 PM
  # 5 (permalink)  
I'm here to learn!

Originally Posted by DayTrader View Post