Visiting the parents.

Old 10-10-2010, 02:06 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Visiting the parents.

Every time i visit my parents I see again the reasons I wanted to leave home in the first place. No one communicates, no one trusts, there no living space (dad is a hoarder even if he doesn't admit it). People talk about each other behind their backs. Even if the family seems "normal" it definitely isn't

I love them but sometimes i hate it. It hurts me every time i visit. Kinda like opening up an old wound.

Mom is always sick, and dad doesn't understand her. neither does my sister. she's never been very compassionate. I'm the only one that really cares but I don't live here anymore.

It's still a tough situation. And i'm still trying to learn and grow and learn how a healthy relationship should be.
And i'm still learning how to communicate.
I guess thats all for now.
Old 10-10-2010, 06:47 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Originally Posted by 03fifteen View Post
Every time i visit my parents I see again the reasons I wanted to leave home in the first place.

I love them but sometimes i hate it. It hurts me every time i visit. Kinda like opening up an old wound.
You may be just learning to communicate this, but it sounds like your instincts read loud and clear. How often do you see your family? Do you ever say no to going home? If it feels like it's hurting you just to visit, have you ever tried stopping?

Even though I live across the country, one nasty conversation with a family member can still leave me emotionally wasted for days... the effect is so powerful that I cannot imagine how I must have been, let alone survived, seeing them face-to-face in real life for so many years. The only effective way I found to deal with the recurring emotional pain that actually worked was to stop visiting. And that took a lot of therapy and support before I could make that kind of decision.
Old 10-10-2010, 06:58 PM
  # 3 (permalink)