Notices

A little stressed

Old 10-09-2010, 03:40 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

A little stressed

Overheard my son and his friend on the phone talking about smoking a few joints together. I confronted him and he admitted "he smokes a little".

He is 17 years old and aside from this concern a really good kid. Doesnt get into trouble, good grades, very helpful at home with chores and his siblings.

Frustrated and I feel like such a hypocrite getting upset with him when im an addict myself. Recovering..but an addict.

I havnt talked with him yet, basically told him i was not happy and to go away from me for now.

Ahhh teenagers. not sure how I am going to handle this one.

Any advice? I may or may not take it ok..lol but still would like to hear it.

Thanks for listening.
Old 10-09-2010, 03:49 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Administrator

I have no experience in this area, I'm afraid, Carrie - but I think you're right to wait and cool down, gather your thoughts, and look for guidance here

D
Old 10-09-2010, 04:50 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Life the gift of recovery!

My two oldest girls started using drugs around the ages of 14 and 16. I tried confrontation with them, tried explaining why drugs are bad for their health and welfare but what happened was the harder I tried to get them to stop doing them the further they ran from me.

I finally had to stand my ground and mean what I said. I set a boundary and told them that if they did not stop using the drugs, bringing drug users into my home, and start attending school again I would send them to live with their father or grandmother. I gave them three tries and on the third I followed through. It was one of the hardest things I have ever done. I hate boundaries but have learned that I need them to help the other person as well as protect myself.